Chanel plaid jacket early fall 2013When I saw this photo from the Chanel early fall 2013 collection, I was very excited as I have some fabric that’s the same colour and plaid pattern.  My fabric is a brushed wool with a beautiful drape and feel.  I can’t tell what the Chanel fabric is, but by the picture, it looks like it must have enough texture that the lining is quilted to the face fabric, creating the characteristic Chanel cardigan look and feel.  My fabric’s been in my stash for years, and I think I bought it for a skirt.  It’s going to take some fancy work to get a jacket out of it and there’s really not quite enough to duplicate the jacket exactly. I’ll be working on this jacket this weekend, as I’d love to get it made and wear it next weekend.

The jacket can’t be quilted like many Chanel jackets, as the weave won’t hide the quilting lines.  I also don’t have enough fabric for self-facing.  So I’ll either be bringing the lining almost to the finished edge, or facing with a different fabric.

Vogue 7975

Vogue 7975

Butterick 5927

Butterick 5927

Butterick 5927

Butterick 5927

When dealing with the issue of not enough fabric, you need to think outside the box a little.  Here are some of the things that could be considered:

  • Subdivide one or more of the pattern pieces into 2 pieces and create a decorative seam.  The yellow diagram of the Butterick pattern does that on the jacket front.  The lower front piece could be done on the bias, or I can try to match the plaid pattern.  I could also try to do something similar to the sleeve, as it’s the longest pattern piece. Or I could try shortening the sleeve to bracelet length, which might shave enough off.
  • Either do away with facings or do the facings in a different colour.  By going with a collarless jacket, it means that facings won’t show, so a coordinating facing will work just fine.
  • Incorporate a second fabric – for instance using a princess seam pattern and doing the small side front and side back pieces in a coordinating fabric.  With plaid, a faux suede or pleather might give a “moto” feel.  Or do the sleeves out of a different fabric. (Here’s an example of a jacket I pulled off Polyvore – plaid and leather mix.)   I thought about doing the sleeves in some leftover black boiled wool, but it would be a last resort.
Plaid moto jacket

Plaid moto jacket

Off to the drawing board!  I wish you all a great weekend!

